A legal resident of Boston

On Friday I, and my car, became legal residents of Massachusetts. The process is fairly easy. You fill out some forms online, print those forms, and take them, along with forms of identity, you car title, and proof of address to the RMV and hope you get Arlene. Arlene works at the Watertown RMV and she is a dream. She made the process tolerable, and was patient when I fumbled with my paperwork. There needs to be more people in the world like Arlene. After everything was said and done I was registered to vote in Massachusetts, had new license plates, and a temporary ID (the real one comes in the mail in 7-10 days).

That evening we met up with Ashleigh’s cousin Lauren and her husband Todd to have dinner with Nader Tehrani, and several people from his office. We ate at Molana in Watertown, which is a Persian restaurant. The food was excellent, and we listened to many of the dinner guests talk about living in Iran, both pre and post revolution. Such interesting stories!

We spent Saturday in Boston proper, deciding to sit outside and enjoy the nice streak of weather we are having. Craving some seafood, we headed to the Seaport District to The Barking Crab. The Barking Crab is certainly much more of a tourist jaunt then we would normally frequent, but the ability to sit outside, drink some beers, and eat crustaceans was too much for us to avoid. While I’d probably not return, it was a pleasant afternoon, and we really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Later that afternoon, we headed to my friend Adam’s house to meet up with a former classmate, Tim, and go to Fenway Park for the Zac Brown Band concert. Again, you probably would not find me at a Zac Brown Band concert ever again, unless the following variables were fullfilled. First, if the concert was at Fenway Park. Check. Second, we had access to several suites, each with food and full bar. Third, you are with great friends whom you don’t often see. Check. We really had a great time, and Adam even took us to some 2nd row seats for a few songs. Pretty amazing.

Last Tuesday I headed back to Boston Makers for their volunteer meeting. It was another chance to meet some new people, and begin the process of getting involved in some local activities. The only downside is I tend to get home pretty late, as Boston Makers is located in Jamaica Plain, and it takes about an hour by public tranportation to get their from Lexington.

Tomorrow I will head to Sommerville to attend the Artisan’s Asylum teacher meeting. I sent in an application to teach 3D modeling using OnShape and was accepted. I think there will be some very interesting people at the Asylum, and I am looking forward to making some new contacts.

Lastly, I’ve got my 3D printing work station up and running in the basement. Some improvisation was needed as a filament holder, but so far so good. I am currently experimenting with some prints to create a front license plate holder. Since my car was purchased in Arizona where front plates are not necessary, it did not come with a method to attach a front license plate. Massachusetts does require front plates, so instead of drilling holes in my bumper I am working on attaching the plate to the bottom grille. Should not be too difficult.

Leave a Reply

