Take Me Out To The Ballgame

Another week in Boston and the changes continue. My official Massachusetts Driver’s License arrived, which is basically the last regulatory measure left to complete my residence status. In 37 years I’ve never had a license from a state jurisdiction other than Arizona. Unfortunately, with Massachusetts licenses I’ll have to renew every 5 years, unlike my Arizona license, which was set to expire in 2044. Ridiculous.

With my 3D printer up and running in my mad scientist basement lab, I worked out a design for a front license plate holder which attaches to the lower grille of my car. I think the design came out well, and having driven only a few short trips, it’s still attached. Success. For the design I decided to try a new modeling software instead of my trusted OnShape; Autodesk Fusion 360.

Screen Shot 2016-08-26 at 6.40.42 PM
License plate bracket, as designed using Autodesk Fusion 360.

Fusion 360 is a free modeling software from Autodesk that functions quite similarly to OnShape, although I found it to be a bit less intuitive. Despite being less intuitive, however, it has some nice bells and whistles that OnShape currently lacks.

On functionality that was quite helpful is the ease of adding threads to nuts and bolts. Fusion has a database of threads, and you simply need to click on a cylindrical form and select the thread option to place, say, a 1/4 20 thread along your bolt. Currently, if you are using OnShape, adding threads has to be done manually. It’s not difficult, but it does take a few extra steps, which can certainly be a hassle.

One thing I like about OnShape, however, is that you can add multiple files in the same drawing, and then bring those components together as an Assembly. Any changes you make to individual parts automatically update in the Assembly. This is a nice function to have, and I’m not quite sure how it works in Fusion. I am taking a Fusion seminar later this week, which will hopefully answer some more questions. At present, I find both programs to be useful, and would recommend both to a friend and let them choose which one provides a more comfortable workflow.

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 1.49.22 PM

Oh, here is a link to my Instructable for the DIY Front License Plate Bracket. It wont win any awards on Instructables, but maybe there are others out there who want to make something similar.

http://www.instructables.com/id/DIY-Front-License-Plate-Holder/

 

Lastly, I went to my first Red Sox game the other night with my good friend from college, Adam. He greeted me outside of 4 Yawkey Way, which is the entrance to the main offices at Fenway. We then went down onto the field before the game began, which I must admit was pretty cool. The Sox were playing the Rays, and the stadium seemed filled to capacity on what had to be one of the more pleasant evenings, with regard to temperature, I’ve experienced in Boston. While I’m not much of a baseball fan, I’d say a nice summer evening at Fenway is pretty tough to beat.

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 1.51.39 PM
Adam, Me, Charles, and Chris

One thought on “Take Me Out To The Ballgame

Leave a Reply

