Over the Hill?

It’s been a bit busy for me the last few weeks, so I’ve missed writing a weekly report. A lot has happened, travel, job interviews, sick dogs, and losing baseball teams. I’m currently sitting in the public area at Artisan’s Asylum waiting for my OnShape class to begin, and since I am here early, its a good time to write out some notes on my new life in Boston.

Adam introduced me to a new acquaintance, Dan, who plays soccer. Dan invited me to join his Over The Hill team, Needham United. I went out and watched them play one game, and liked the guys on the team. In fact, two of them play on my Maccabi team, Brian and Lee. The team seemed like a good fit for me, and I was playing with them the following week in a game just outside of Providence. We lost 5-3 to a Portuguese team, but it was a lot of fun, and the games are quite competitive. Looking forward to continuing with this team. Additionally, I got to spend some time with my parents, and even share a little whiskey with my dad.

img_1551
Special Woodford Reserve

On the job front, I had two interviews last week which I was really looking forward to; Stantec and CBT. Last Tuesday I met Jill Rothenberg and Matt Roberts of Stantec in South Boston. We met for just over an hour, and both of them were extremely nice, and seemed sincerely interested in learning about me. After a long chat, Jill showed me around the office, which has great views towards the city showcasing many of their projects. I received an email from them yesterday asking for me to submit an application online, so hopefully that will make its way through the proper channels and I’ll be invited back for another interview.

In addition to Stantec, I also met with David Nagahiro from CBT. David spent quite a bit of time with me, learning about my background, and gave me a wonderful tour of the CBT office. I really was impressed wth the office, the amount of models, both working and final production, was spectacular. There was a definite feeling of design happening in their space. Add to that they also had a nicely equipped fabrication lab with 3D printers and laser cutters. Obviously, that kind of stuff always wins my heart. I’ve just received an email while typing this out for a second interview with CBT – hopefully what will happen sometime next week.

We also tried out some good eats, as Ashleigh and I headed to Chinatown and had a light lunch at the Gourmet Dumpling House. We had some delicious pork and leek dumplings, and I really loved the Dumplings with Hot Juice – so good.

img_1534
Juicy Pork Dumplings. 

Over the weekend I was back in Arizona playing in the Columbus Cup with the +35 Maccabi team. This team has a lot of talented players and it was a real treat to be on the field with such a great group of guys. We played 5 games (should have been 6, but one team forfeited) and lost in the final of the tournament 2-0 to a very good team from LA. Next up for our team is a tournament in Vegas in January, I’m looking forward to being back together with the group – really first rate guys.

Lastly, the Sox dropped 3 straight games to the Indians to put an end to their season. I only mention this because I’ve begun rooting for them because of Adam. I think he is a but disappointed, but there is always next year.

Lastly, lastly, I bought a hat. Pork Pie! Yes, I’ve been wearing the hat to my interviews, which is certainly responsible for my success so far.

img_1535
Pork Pie Hat

Well, it’s time for me to go and teach class.

One thought on “Over the Hill?

Leave a Reply

