Back to the Grind

It’s been a few weeks since my last post, and a lot of great things have happened; new job, new President, and new clothes. The weather is beginning to get colder, it’s a windy gray afternoon here in Boston, but the leaves are still bright yellows and brown, and the streets are still picturesque and make me smile every time I’m out walking the dogs or headed to the bus stop for work.

img_1625img_1628

Speaking of work, I’ve officially rejoined the workforce, being fortunate enough to land a job with CBT Architects. Hard to believe it’s been 3 weeks since my first day, and 4 months since my last day working at Brophy College Preparatory. Work started pretty fast out of the gate, as I joined the Academic team working on an interior renovation project at Boston College, Devlin Hall. We had two weeks before a DD deadline, so I was thrown into the fray picking up red lines – and learning Revit along the way – helping to get everything in order before our deadline.

IMG_1613.JPG

With our drawings in on time, we were able to relax a bit last week, but there was still a lot to do, as we had to get some renderings together and fix a few more red lines before a meeting next week. Everybody at the firm has been very nice to me, and I am looking forward to learning as much as possible during my time there.

In other news, we have a new President, and without getting too political, I’m concerned about what the next 4-8 years might bring. It was interesting to vote in a predominantly blue state for the first time, as I looked down the ballot, I was shocked to see Donald Trump as the only Republican on the entire ticket – for any race. It was nearly 100% Democrats running unopposed. I don’t prescribe to much (if any) Republican ideals, but candidates should not be able to run unopposed in such numbers – that can’t be good for anybody. As  you might expect from Massachusetts, it was eerily quiet on the morning after the election, as you can see in this video.

Today the weather is quite cold, but it has been pretty mild up until today. That has not stopped me from buying another Goorin Bros. hat – a newsboy style head topper for weekends and more casual outings. So far I’m really enjoying being a hat wearer, and even bought some feathers (Amazon is truly amazing) for my pork pie.

Lastly, needing a haircut badly, I decided to head to the North End on my lunch break and try Boston Barbers. It was a great experience, and I was very happy with my barber, Arty, and will certainly be back for another visit. The man was a perfectionist with with every tool he used, scissors, straight razor, clippers – I was in awe. It was a nice old fashioned haircut – obviously my kind of thing. Looking forward to next time.

That’s all for now. Will hopefully get back onto my weekly rotation of posts.

Leave a Reply

